A NYC Kids Birthday!?!? OMG My baby just turned #1 #BirthdayBoy #HappyBirthday

 

HAPPY BIRTHDAY BASTIAN!!!!! 10915263_10100235314325163_5991272975507907528_n

My name is Kristen Ruhlin, I’m a new mama to a boy named Bastian.

This blog is all about hitting the top restaurants with BIG strollers, tiny babies in big cities. So check in to see where Bastian and I have ventured and if we were asked to leave once they saw our HUGE SUV of a stroller roll in(we have a Bugaboo Cameleon, it’s big). We’re eaten’ food, burpin babies and taken names.

IT’S A BIRTHDAY POST

IMG_3888

This post is going to be about my baby boy who is now a toddler. I can’t even believe the year has gone by so fast. It seems impossible that one year ago I had only just met the love of my life. Happy Birthday my love, I hope you have the most adventurous life filled with love and laughter.

New York City and kids Birthday Parties is no joke friends. It’s NO Joke. First place to start, the place. Where can you house 15 plus people and let your little one be free to crawl around in a clean, safe environment? I asked other moms…the YMCA, baby gyms like AppleSeeds or MyGym, a restaurant. So I called these spots and got quotes.

$450/HR with 3 HOUR MINIMUM?!?!!?!?! Excuse me YMCA, come again? Holy cow. That was just the beginning. I’m not cheap but that was more than my 16th birthday, 21st and probably 30th all in one. So I had to start thinking out side the box…Churches, schools, bookstores…then it hit me. Rehearsal studios. Being an actor in NY you are introduced to another world that most don’t even know exists. The black box theaters, studios, and more. So I booked a rehearsal studio and threw a baby’s 1st Birthday. BOOM.

We were able to bring in our own food, drinks, toys, and decorations. The only thing we needed was to make sure we left it the way we found it. Most of these spaces also provide chairs and tables (yes all the other kid birthday spots charge per table and chair).

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION:

I won’t say exactly which space we threw our party at because it’s sort of on the down low and I’m sure the artists would be a little peeved if all these kids were swarming the quiet studio space with these events. But, I will provide a list of resources for other moms to call and check out…just best to say it’s for a birthday part and not mention it’s a kid. HINT.

Ripley-Grier studios– Several locations around the city.

440 Studios– East Village and under $40/hour

Roy Arias Studios–  They are cool with kid birthday’s but have special rates.

Art New York– Several spots

Shetler Studios– Lots of locations

These are just a few options and if you want more try this website below.

NYC Space Finder– you can pick your rate and location.

The LOOK:IMG_3853

I kept it super low key and simple. He’s 1 people. We filled the table with memorable quotes and info from this adorable company called CiinolinCiinolin_BirthCard_FA1_3__62396.1405323398.451.416 who has adorable stuff, and I decided to base my “theme” around the color of these cute cards. Yellow, light blue and brown.

babysteps_cards_3__29527.1405323312.1280.1280

 

 

 

FOOD:

I also thought of the babies here. I did light finger foods all of which were baby friendly. Fresh fruit, bite size rye bread, Vegan/Sugar Free treats made specially with the allergy notes from Whole Foods, Pirates Booty, Plum Organics Puffs in various flavors, and bite size cheese. It was over all pretty simple and we easily transported it all ourselves- in NYC no less. We did have a lot of hands on deck and the use of a GETT car which I use like my left arm. It’s still $10 bucks flat in the city…doesn’t get better people it just doesn’t. Use my code and get $20 bucks in your account when you sign up. I’m not joking, download that app. #GTKRIST7 use it. image2

 

 

 

 

 

 

WHOS WHO:

IMG_3889IMG_3877Bastian only has 1 friend but Mama has a few amazing friends who despite the fact I haven’t had a lot of one on one time in the past year at all, they are always so loving and supportive of every baby event. I feel so blessed to have friends like this in my life. Sara, Renie, Dan, Kyra and Robby you all are amazing people and we all love you so much!! Thanks for not ditching us when we became parents! 🙂 We also had a special visit from Bastian’s Sassy from Ga- who braved the cold weather to spend time with us and celebrate his day!! She spoiled this boy so much from endless toys, books, bath toys, treats to quality cuddle time, boy loves his Sassy.

 

 

2 thoughts on “A NYC Kids Birthday!?!? OMG My baby just turned #1 #BirthdayBoy #HappyBirthday

Leave a Reply

